terms of use | contact us | links | home
Search Stamps: search
results per page:                browse
02 August 2011
Miniature Sheet

Centenary of the Australasian Antarctic Expedition - Minisheet

This is the first in a four-year program of stamps celebrating the centenary of the Australasian Antarctic Expedition (AAE). The AAE left Hobart in December 1911 under the command of Douglas Mawson and returned to Adelaide in February 1914.

The series will be made up of five stamps issued each year until 2014 using the overall themes of departure and journey, arrival and exploration, science and triumphant return. The initial five stamp strip shows the key moments in the departure of the AAE from Hobart and the journey to the Antarctic.

After departing Hobart in the Aurora, captained by John King Davis, the AAE landed at Macquarie Island where it established a radio camp. The party then continued its voyage to the Antarctic continent, arriving at Cape Denison, the main base of the AAE and referred to as the birthplace of Australia

Centenary of the Australasian Antarctic Expedition  

Centenary of the Australasian Antarctic Expedition

Technical Information

Issue date: 2 August 2011
FDI withdrawal date: 30 August 2011
Denomination: 5 x 60c se-tenant
Stamp and product design: Andrew Hogg Design
Printer: RA Printing
Paper: Tullis Russel
Printing process: Lithography
Stamp size: 26mm x 37.5mm
Minisheet size: 170mm x 85mm
Perforations: 14.6 x 13.86
Sheet layout: Modules of 50
National postmark: Kingston, Tas 7050
copyright notice: This material has been reproduced with permission of the Australian Postal Corporation. The original work is held in the National Philatelic Collection. - Last Updated (UTC Time) - 2018-03-23 15:38:48
Design & Programming & Copyright © 2006-2020 Andreas Liverdos. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: Use of this site implies acceptance of its terms of use. The text on this site does not necessarily represent the view or opinion of the site owner.