terms of use | contact us | links | home
Search Stamps: search
results per page:                browse
01 January 2008
Joint Issue

Joint Issue Cyprus-Malta: Adoption of Euro

1st January 2008 sees Cyprus and Malta join the Euro zone. This brings the number of countries which have the euro as their national currency to 15.

To commemorate this event, both countries are issuing a miniature sheet, consisting of two stamps, the one representing Aphrodite, the Cypriot goddess of love, and the other the statuette of Malta known as the Sleeping Lady or Fat Lady. The nominal value of the miniature is € 2 (€ 1 each stamp).

As it is known, there are seven banknotes with values of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 euro, eight coins, two of 1 and 2 euro and six with its subdivision into 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 cents in circulation. The banknotes are common to all the countries of the Euro zone and depict designs symbolizing Europe's architectural heritage. The coins have one common side for all the countries and a national side with different representations from each country.

Text: Paschalis Eliopoulos, Nicosia
Source: Department of Postal Services, Republic of Cyprus.

Adoption of Euro  

Adoption of Euro

Official First Day Covers

Official FDC Joint Issue Cyprus-Malta: Adoption of Euro

Technical Information

Quantity: 100000
Designer: Melanie Efstathiadou
Size: 62 x 100 mm - Last Updated (UTC Time) - 2018-03-23 15:38:48
Design & Programming & Copyright © 2006-2019 Andreas Liverdos. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: Use of this site implies acceptance of its terms of use. The text on this site does not necessarily represent the view or opinion of the site owner.